Winners of the Yorkshire and North East Director of the Year Awards unveiled

The Institute of Directors (IoD) has announced the winners of its Yorkshire and North East Director of the Year Awards 2020.

The winners were unveiled at a virtual awards ceremony, streamed live last night (18 Nov) to an audience of business leaders from across the region.

The Judges’ Special Award went to Nicola Chance-Thompson, CEO of The Piece Hall Trust, Halifax. Nicola is also a Deputy Lieutenant for West Yorkshire.

Delroy Beverley, IoD Yorkshire and North East regional chair, said: “Congratulations go to all our winners who demonstrated outstanding success in their individual sectors. We were delighted to showcase and celebrate their achievements during our virtual awards ceremony. Innovation, leadership and determination were among the qualities which shone through in our 2020 winners.”

Entries are now being welcome for the IoD’s 2021 awards and this year’s Highly Commended finalists are encouraged to apply.


The 2020 winners are:


Judges’ Special Award – Nicola Chance-Thompson DL, CEO The Piece Hall Trust


Chair’s Award for Excellence in Director and Board Practice – Heidi Mottram, CEO Northumbrian Water


Social Value and Sustainability Impact

Joint winners: William Beer, Tunley Engineering, Wakefield and Clair Challenor-Chadwick, Cause UK, Harrogate


Family Business      

Winner: Brian Stahelin and Abigail Stahelin-Hall, Stafflex Limited, Huddersfield

Highly commended:

Jonathan Lupton, Econ Engineering Ltd, Ripon

Atul Malhotra, Malhotra Group PLC, Newcastle upon Tyne


Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Winner: Nitin Shukla, Haven Tyneside, Gateshead

Highly commended:

David Nikolich, ABSTRACT, York



Winner: Martin Port, BigChange Limited, Leeds (won CSR Director of the Year in 2018)

Highly commended:

Paul Smith, Touchstone Education, Doncaster

Zandra Moore, Panintelligence, Leeds

Adam Hildreth, Crisp, Leeds



Winner: Ryan Maughan, Avid Technology Ltd, Cramlington

Highly commended:

Adam Hildreth, Crisp, Leeds



Winner: Diane Cheesebrough, V4 UK Holdings, Gateshead

Highly commended:

Nicola Chance-Thompson DL, The Piece Hall Trust, Halifax



Joint winners: Wallace Sampson, Chief Executive of Harrogate Borough Council and Ben Houchen, Tees Valley Mayor



Winner: Claire Conlaund, The Skills Network, Selby

Highly commended:

Anna Sutton, The Data Shed, Leeds

Kenneth Wood, AA Projects Limited, Leeds

Dawn Carney, Fresh Pastures & School Milk UK, Wakefield



Winner: Bethany Ainsley, OptiMe, Billingham


Third Sector

Winner: Richinda Taylor, EVA Women’s Aid Ltd, Redcar

Highly commended:

Charlie Stobbart and Tom Smith, MAP Charity, Leeds

James Cross, Urban Green Newcastle



Winner: Grant Nicholson, Planet-U Energy, Leeds

Highly commended:

William Beer, Tunley Engineering, Wakefield

Laura Hepburn, Greenology, Middlesbrough