Saturday, November 27, 2021

Yorkshire and Humber councillors shortlisted for 2021 LGIU & CCLA Cllr Award

For the 12th year running, the Cllr Awards are the only national ceremony to celebrate the vital contributions of councillors that so often go unrecognised. As communities continue to recover from the pandemic, these Awards are a hugely important way to champion what local councillors do for their communities.

Competition was extremely tight again this year with over 400 nominations (a record number) received across seven categories that celebrate the varied work of councillors. Some of the awards up for grabs include Resilience and Recovery (new for 2021), alongside the coveted Community Champion, Leader of the Year and Young Councillor of the Year awards. The full shortlist is included below.

The winners will be decided by a panel of judges composed of senior councillors and officers as well as leading stakeholders from across the sector. The winners will be revealed at the Cllr Awards ceremony taking place on Wednesday, 1st December from 18:30pm until 21:00pm at Camden Council, Five Pancras Square, London. The ceremony will also be broadcast live on YouTube.

This year’s awards are only made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGIU said:  “This year’s Cllr Awards shortlist showcases the best of local government. During a time when they have experienced unprecedented challenges and pressure, these councillors are true champions for local government and their communities.

The last year has reminded each and every one of us of the effort and lengths to which councillors go to support their citizens. As such, we were overwhelmed by powerful stories and experiences coming through the over 400 nominations received for councillors across England and Wales. =

Our most sincere congratulations to all of those councillors shortlisted. We look forward to unveiling the winners on Wednesday, 1 December.”

The LGIU and CCLA are proud to announce that the following councillors have been shortlisted for the 2021 Cllr Awards.

  • Cllr Vick Jenkins, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, Community Champion
  • Cllr Denise Craghill, City of York Council, Environment and Sustainability Pioneer
  • Cllr Dale Smith, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, Lifetime Achievement
  • Cllr Abigail Marshall Katung, Leeds City Council, Resilience and Recovery
  • Cllr Mohammed Nazam, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, Resilience and Recovery
  • Cllr Rachel Melly, City of York Council, Young Councillor of the Year

A message from the Editor:

Thank you for reading this story on our news site - please take a moment to read this important message:

As you know, our aim is to bring you, the reader, an editorially led news site and magazine but journalism costs money and we rely on advertising, print and digital revenues to help to support them.

With the Covid-19 pandemichaving a major impact on our industry as a whole, the advertising revenues we normally receive, which helps us cover the cost of our journalists and this website, have been drastically affected.

As such we need your help. If you can support our news sites/magazines with either a small donation of even £1, or a subscription to our magazine, which costs just £31.50 per year, (inc p&P and mailed direct to your door) your generosity will help us weather the storm and continue in our quest to deliver quality journalism.

As a subscriber, you will have unlimited access to our web site and magazine. You'll also be offered VIP invitations to our events, preferential rates to all our awards and get access to exclusive newsletters and content.

Just click here to subscribe and in the meantime may I wish you the very best.

Latest news

Related news

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.